L´Égoiste

I will put you in a cage
And it is there
You shall remain.

Until your absence
Shall call upon my shame,
And I will let you out
To be with me again.

No other dreams
You come to have
Will ever
Set sail again.

I will keep you
And emotionally kidnap
Everything
You have not yet seen.
Everything you could have been.

I will own it all.
You will do
As my selfish
Mind you bid.

My bird
Your cage.
Your love
My rage.
(Gerry Aldridge ©2016)bird_in_a_cage_by_sueythebrave-d5wuvlo.png

One thought on “L´Égoiste

Leave a Reply

